New Standard Rolled Out For Workplace Safety Officers

Workers in charge of safety can now refer to a new standard that will help them chart their careers and upgrade their skills.

The Singapore Institution of Safety Officers (SISO) yesterday introduced the first professional standard for workplace safety and health professionals here.

It covers five tiers of career progression in the field - from officer to director - and specifies the years of experience and skillsets needed at each level. The standard also lays out a code of conduct and ethics for these workers.

Its aim is to help workers in the field better develop their careers, and boost their competency.

SISO honorary president Seet Choh San said the standard also helps to address the mismatch between an employee's skills and an employer's needs, by helping companies find a suitably skilled worker more easily.

He recounted his experience with a firm which struggled to find a Singaporean worker to fill the post of workplace safety and health regional manager. The problem, he realised, was that it had failed to specify the right requirements for the job.

The company was on the verge of hiring someone from Australia, but managed to attract a suitable Singaporean candidate after tweaking the job advertisement.

"This new standard helps align expectations, so if companies want a regional safety director in future, they can just signal that they're looking for a level-four professional," he said. "All the requirements - experience, skills - are set out in the standard."

The new standard is supported by the Ministry of Manpower, Workplace Safety and Health Council, and the National Trades Union Congress (NTUC). SISO plans to introduce it across a range of sectors, including manufacturing and construction. It will hold roadshows next year to publicise the standard.

So far, about eight NTUC-affiliated unions have come on board to support the standard.

One of them is the United Workers of Electronics and Electrical Industries, which sees to the interests of about 66,000 members.

Its president Fahmi Abu Bakar Bafana said the standard will make workers aware of skills they need to pick up, or courses they should enrol in, to progress to the next career tier.

The new standard was launched yesterday after a ceremony for the pioneer batch of graduates from the Workplace Safety and Health Leadership Programme.

Started last year by SISO and NTUC, it aims to groom managers in the field for leadership positions.


To find out more about Cert IV TAE
For more information on HSE Coach Courses
For more information on FPSO courses
For more information on NEBOSH Courses
For more information on IOSH Managing Safely
For more information on internationally recognised safety training

For more information on Nebosh Elearning


Simply Safety is a Singapore international center for Safety, Health and Environmental training. We conduct courses accredited by NEBOSH and other courses such as OGSC FPSO Courses, WDA courses, MOM Accredited Courses, Australian Cert IV (Australian ACTA),online international certificate courses as well as a range of short courses designed to meet specific industry needs.


For more information about NEBOSH IGC, please visit our NEBOSH IGC page. You may also reach us at or visit us at

Recent Posts

Satisfaction Guarantee

Simply Safety Guarantee

We guarantee that our service will help you and your company. If you are not satisfied, we'll provide you more services, more than what you've paid for.

Privacy & Security

Simply Safety Guarantee

All your information is safe and secure. The entire transaction will take place on a secure server using SSL technology.

LiveZilla Live Chat Software